Lorelai’s Chicken Pot Pie


Dragon Fly Inn, Stars Hollow, Connecticut. This is the fictional setting of an Inn owned by Lorelai Gilmore, 1/2 of the main character (her daughter Rory being the other 1/2). I always wished the Dragon Fly Inn, a quaint place with a kooky and outgoing owner existed.

Gilmore Girls was a safe place for me to escape this crazy world when I had a bad day at work. Gilmore Girls, fudge brownie and vanilla bean ice cream was what the doctor ordered. For some reason the fast banter, the friendships, mother daughter relationships and weird, and wild characters,  I knew I felt at home.

Best friend of Lorelai, Sooki St. James, was the Inn’s Chef. In this fictional world she whipped up many culinary delights. And I bet her homemade chicken pot pie would have been on the Dragon Fly Inn’s menu.

The creamy goodness inside: plump, tender shredded chicken,carrots, peas, green beans and corn mixed with a creamy country gravy. The homemade biscuit topping seasoned with herbs and cooked perfectly- not soft but not burnt, that perfect crispy shade of golden brown.

Because Lorelai’s reminds me of my mother (happiness, comfort and peace) I bring you Lorelai’s Chicken Pot Pie for the second item on my Bed and Breakfast Food Series.

It’s very simple to make. You will need three cups of cooked chicken. I choose to boil mine (but you can bake yours). I like to boil mine in salt, pepper, oregano, and a dash of garlic. I then pour a good amount of olive oil on top. This helps the chicken to become tender and shred easily.  I also do this because the recipe calls for chicken broth.  Instead of buying it, I just use broth that’s in the pot after cooking the chicken.

After about 40 minutes of chicken cooking, I start to make the veggies.  To make it easy I just use a bag of frozen variety.  I like to use onion too, but Joe doesn’t like the onion so I had to leave it out.   Once the veggies cook I pour them into the baking dish.

The next step is to make the creamy gravy

I have to boil the gravy for about a minute.  By this time the chicken has finished cooking.  I shred it with a fork and stir it into the gravy.

After mixing the chicken and the gravy, you just pour on top of veggies.   The next step would be the biscuit topping.  I’ve made the herb crusted topping before but tonight I was too lazy.   Instead I used a can of 8 crescent rolls and spread it on top.

Sorry the picture didn’t come out as well.  It was starting to get dark outside and its hard to take pictures of food with a flash.

Twenty minutes in the oven and its done!

LORELAI’S CHICKEN POT PIE

Ingredients

  • 3 cups of cooked chicken (approx 3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts).  Shredded or cut into bite sized chunks
  • 1 package of  frozen vegetables
  •  1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2/3 cups butter
  • 2/3 cups of all-purpose flour
  • 2 and 1/2 cups of low sodium chicken broth
  • 1 and 1/3 cups of low-fat milk
  • 1 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon of black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon of poultry seasoning
  • 1/4 teaspoon of  rosemary or italian seasoning

Herbed Biscuit Topping (if you want to save time you can skip this step and use a can of 8 crescent rolls)

  • 2 cups of Bisquick baking mix
  • 2/3 cup of low fat milk
  • 1 and 1/4 of italian seasoning (rosemary, thyme, basil and oregano)
  1. Pre heat oven to 375.   Spray a 9×13 baking dish with cooking spray.
  2. Cook your chicken.   You can boil it or bake it.  Here’s how I cooked it:
  3. In a large pot filled up about 1/2 way with water.   Add chicken and season with salt, pepper, oregano and a small dash of garlic.  Pour over with olive oil.  Sorry folks I didn’t measure the olive oil but it was approx 1/4 cup.  You want to pour it so it cover the top.
  4. Turn the stove on high heat.  As the water starts to boil, turn it down to med high heat (its “8” on my stove).  Allow it to boil for one hour.
  5. Allow the chicken to cook for about 30- 40 minutes then start to prepare your veggies according to the directions on your package.
  6. Once the veggies are finished pour into your baking dish
  7. Over low-med heat, melt the butter, blend in flour, salt, pepper, poultry seasoning and rosemary (or italian seasonings), cooking mixture until bubbly and smooth
  8. Add broth and milk.  If you use the broth from the chicken in the pot make sure the chicken has finished cooking, otherwise you can just use store-bought broth.  Stir constantly over low med heat until mixture comes to boil.  If you get impatient like me, you can turn it up a bit, just make sure to keep stirring.  Boil 1 minute
  9. Remove from heat and add cooked chicken into the gravy mix and warm through.
  10. Pour over veggies already in baking dish.
  11. Stir to combine.

Biscuit topping

To save time you can use the crescent rolls.  Open the can.  Each roll has 4 crescents rolls.  Seperate the two main rolls so that you have two rolls of 4 crescent rolls.  (does that make sense?  I think I’m a little tongue tied.  Look at the picture further above in my post if your not sure what I’m talking about.    Lay the first four rolls on 1/2 of the dish and then layer the other four rolls on top.

If you do want to make the biscuit topping here is what you do-

Combine Bisquick, milk, and Italian seasonings; stir well until combined.  Drop by even tablespoonfuls on top of chicken mixture in baking dish.  You can create 8 individual sized mounds.

After you put on the topping, whether you used the crescent rolls or the herbed biscuit topping, put into oven and bake for 20 minutes or until topping is golden brown.

One thought on “Lorelai’s Chicken Pot Pie

Healthy Girl Adventures LOVES comments, so leave a reply

