What Doesn’t Kill You Makes You Stronger


Come on Nicole.  You CAN do this.  Let’s goooo Ni-coooo-ole…lets go!   Your on your last rep- YOU GOT THIS!

The pretty cheerleaders were on the sidelines cheering me on.  Hearing the swoosh of the red, black and white feathers, the girls were dancing and twirling around the field with their pompoms high in the air, pony tails bobbing up and down.

My white mp3 player attached to my hip, the ear buds pouring music into my ears,  keeping me steady with each step as my feet pounded down on the pavement.

Sweat poured down my face and stung my eyes as I took another gulp of coconut water, letting the hydration cool me down me.   Burning hot, my face was as red as a tomato.  Though I only had one more round to complete, I just wanted to throw in the towel and give up.

Out of shape and really out of breath,  I had to do a set of running for a minute at full speed and then walking at a fast pace for 1 minute.  I had to repeat this ten times.   I was tired, and I could feel my heart pounding in my throat.  My legs were burning and my feet were sore.  I really wanted to give up and say the heck with it.

Feeling the effects of the electrolytes from my water, I began to gain momentum and strength.

And then-

Like an angel coming to rescue me, Kelly Clarkson’s voice filled the airwaves:

She may have sung about a guy, but my opponent was defeat and I wasn’t going to let it get the best of me.  I was a fighter.  The lyrics pumping through my headset started to take me over.

“What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger
Stand a little taller
Doesn’t mean I’m lonely when I’m alone
What doesn’t kill you makes a fighter
Footsteps even lighter
Doesn’t mean I’m over cause you’re gone”

I COULD do that last set.  Nothing was stopping me now!

Finishing up set number ten I did a 2-3 minute cool down on the treadmill.   Looking like I just had dunked my head in a carinival style dunk tank, my hair was plastered back from the sweat.   The back of my blue tank top was soaked.   Yet, I didn’t care how I looked.

Turning off the cardio machine I stood there for a quiet moment.   I felt so alive! And funny enough, energetic.  Though I finished my cardio I still wasn’t done.  Ahead of me was my strength training:  The Lean Leg Pyramid.  

  • 20 Squats
  • 30 Lunges
  • 40 Toe touches (head forward, legs straight, bend down & touch your toes)
  • 50 Second wall sit!! (sit up against a wall, legs at 90 degrees and hold it!)
  • 100 Seconds jumping jacks
  • 50 Second wall sit!!
  • 40 Toe touches
  • 30 Lunges
  • 20 Squats
THEN-
  • 100 tummy tucks
I wasn’t scared.  I have come this far and why stop now?  Turning up the volume, and crooning out the tunes, I danced and  pummeled through the leg lean leg pyrmaid.     My legs where shaking and my whole body was sore by I rocked right on through.     And let me tell you something-  yes my legs did feel leaner after.
My arms were shaking as I laid in the plank position for my tummy tucks.   95, 96, 97, 98, 99,…100!
My body fell back down to my pink mat.   I haven’t felt this good in such a long time.  No pill or weight loss gimmick can replace or compare to the euphoric  feeling you get after sweating your butt off.   After a  heart pumping, calorie burning, sweat pouring workout.
Though you might be sweaty, sore and thirsty don’t you love how exercise makes you feel?  I felt so alive, so energetic and so PROUD.  It makes you feel so good when you realize what your body can really do.  You feel on top of the world when you break down, push through and reach the end of that goal.
And it doesn’t stop here.  Tomorrow is another day.  I look forward to even harder, sweatier days ahead.  I will continue to reach more goals and embrace being stronger and healthier.

Have you ever regretted achieving a goal?

 What doesn’t kill me DOES make me stronger.

2 thoughts on “What Doesn’t Kill You Makes You Stronger

  1. Pingback: Tennis Shoes, Tiaras and Tutus – Pretty Muddy Race Recap | Healthy Girl Adventures

Healthy Girl Adventures LOVES comments, so leave a reply

