I’m thirty three for a moment….


I hate getting old!  I used to laugh and make fun of people who said “just you wait.  your metabolism will go down hill.”   I thought they were joking.  I mean how hard could it be to keep up your weight or even loose weight after 30?  Just continue to exercise and eat right.  HA!  I am in my early 30’s.  Along my journey as a 30th something I’ve picked up wrinkles but thankfully no gray hair.  What I didn’t expect was to pick up rolls of fat.  10 pounds of it.   Oye :\

RUNNING

The past month I had been training for a 5k that I was going to attend in November at Disney World.   I have never been a runner.   I’d rather eat a slice of cake before running.  The heat, the sweat, the panting.  It just wasn’t for me.  Or so I thought.  Being an animal lover I saw that that PETA was doing a race in California.  If you were unable to make it you could still run a race in your town to support PETA.  “Oh what the heck?  Just go for it.”, I thought to myself.  So began my training.  And I LOVED it.  You get such an adrenaline rush!  I was up running/walking 3 miles, but things got so busy I stopped training  just over these last two weeks.  Unfortunately I am not attending the 5k at Disney but that doesn’t mean I am going to stop!

Another reason I took up running was because my skinny clothes had started growing tight again.   I won’t do it…know way no how. I am not going to blame the dryer for shrinking my clothes or blaming it on PMS.  I will not go back 5 years ago where I was 180 lbs on a 4’11” frame. I hated when my thighs would rub together!

How did I get here? I’ve always been so good about maintaining my weight. It’s hard when you move in with your skinny boyfriend who keeps the cabinets stacked with cookies, crackers and chips. I blame myself. It’s my own fault. I’m putting my foot down. I will go back to my healthy ways.  And let me just mention that I still have always maintained a healthy lifestyle. However this year I was plagued with many things (Loosing job hours and loosing my cat) and I think with the stress of it all I found myself eating one too many cookie.  Plus I am not 25 anymore.

My saving grace is a mud run. Even though I can’t attend the Disney 5k I will be doing the mud run.  I can’t give out any specifics now but I already signed up.  Yep.  You heard me right.  I am locked in.  No way out now Nicole.  That means its time to train hard and not taking two weeks off.  I am going to melt that 10 lbs off like butter!

Once I lose these pounds of  fat I’ll post the before and after.  So get ready everyone.  It’s time to put this pity party to rest. I am most excited about training for the mud run.  For those who don’t know, a mud run is not just a race.  It has obstacles courses too!  And you get dirty and muddy. For someone who is germ-a-phobe this will be way out of my element.  I have so many emotions running through me- scared, nervous, excited.  I’ve heard of people getting broken bones! Well it’s time to push back my fears.  Sometimes you can’t think- you just gotta do it.  Right?

33 FOR MOMENT

I need to do what is right for my body.  Treat it right.  Make the right eating choices. Exercise at least 5 times a week for 30 minutes or more. I will not let myself ruin my body through junk food and stress. I am only 33 for a moment.  Time passes by quick. I want to live a long, healthy life. I’ve got so much to look forward to- marrying Joe, having kids (Joe says kid, not kids…hahaha) and making memories with my family both old and new.

Well the moral of this post is this-  yes loosing weight after 30 IS VERY HARD. I’ve learned that I can’t eat as many cookies at Mr. Junk Food Junkie. I’m still a health nut. I love my almond butter, green monster shakes and I love running. Run more miles and curb my sweet tooth is all I need to do.

Join me on this new weight loss journey.  Come with me while I put my fears aside and participate in a mud run.  In the next few blog posts I’ll be updating everyone on my plan to loose 10 lbs.  🙂

9 thoughts on “I’m thirty three for a moment….

    • Thanks so much for the nice comment. I love when I get feed back. It makes me feel good that I can give advice as well as my struggles and help others. Take care!

  1. Hmm it looks like your blog ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly
    enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog
    writer but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any tips and hints for rookie blog writers? I’d definitely appreciate it.

    • Hi there! Sorry that your first comment didn’t go through. It appears that this second comment was sent to my spam folder for some reason. I am so glad you like my blog! Thank you. After all of the hard work I put in it, its great to hear that peoople read it. My advice is DON’T give up. IN this day and age where everything is about instant gratification sometimes its hard to wait. It took me a whole year to get where I am at. Finally after blogging for a year other people and companies are starting to take notice. Also go out and live. Along the way you meet some incredible people and do incredible things (and you can blog about it). What are you blogging about? If its fitness/health, go and do 5k’s or sign up for a health/fitness blog convention. I’ve never been to one but its a great way to network and get your name out there.

      Furthermore get involved. Look for local blogger groups to join. For instance I am a part of the Tampa Ladies Bloggers. I love this group because we can network with each other plus other bloggers and companies come looking for us through this group.
      Lastly, make business cards and post them around town (make sure you get permission from the store first). I had a friend design the graphic/logo for my cards, then I went to Vista Print and printed up 50 business cards for a great price. Again depending on your genre of your blog you can leave the cards at various places. I left mine at Whole Foods Markets, and sometimes when I go out to eat I’ll leave my card with credit card receipt.

      I’ve got lots more ideas. Maybe I should do a blog post on this? I hope this helps you. If and when I think of more stuff I’ll let you. Thanks again for taking the time to comment. Again I love knowing that people enjoy reading my blog. Take care!

  2. What kind of scale did you get? I’ve heard of some new wifi ones that can link to your online weight tracking profile. My current scale is still functioning, so I’m not sure if I want the wifi enabled one. I’m still hung up on a “wifi” scale, lol. About to be 32 and I find it interesting that there are wifi scales.
    Good luck on the mud run!

  3. Good luck Nicole ! I can honestly say at 36 it gets harder but weighing myself everyday keeps me In check and having a husbamd who is a workout fiend helps! How come you aren’t dong the Disney? I was going to do it it O have to watch the pennies we are saving for a house !

    • Because of the money too. I’m saving up for a trip. Your lucky your husband can be your workout buddy. Yep weighing myself is how I always maintained it. AFter I moved in with Joe I didn’t have a scale. I finally got one last month and I am putting it to use. I’d still love to see ya. I know we planned on lunch. The weekdays better for you?

Healthy Girl Adventures LOVES comments, so leave a reply

