Holiday Challenges!


I am loving my new smart phone. I downloaded an app called Run Keeper. It is helping me train to run a 5k race. I’ve only participated in one race. It was the Pretty Muddy mud run. I didn’t train for that race. I ran/walked the the 3 mile course. Next time around I want to run as long as fat stops jiggling   -hahaha. My training plan runs from November 25 – January 18, 2013. The last day I hope I’ll be running 3 miles straight.. This app is great. You can train for 5ks, marathons or 1/2 marathons or even to loose weight. You don’t have to be a runner. Run Keeper has  plans for bikers, skiers and snowboarders.  My plan consists of 4 work outs a week. Here is what I’ve accomplished this week:

Today I went for 3.20 MILES! Thats a big accomplishment in my book. That is farthest I’ve ever gone. Here I am looking crazy and sweaty while I burn those calories:

December is full of many “merry” challenges that I am sharing with you.
First up is a photo challenge:

HOLIDAY PHOTO CHALLENGE.
Each day you are given a specific theme. Then comes the fun part. You choose and take what pictures you think fit that day’s theme. I think it will be fun to compare your photos to everyone else. So keep your eye out, who knows what you’ll come up with. Upload the photo to Instagram/Twitter/Facebook and then tag us by using the hashtag #holidayaday!

This awesome challenge was concocted by a few creative minds for which I’d like to give a shout out. When you have the time check their blogs out:

– Abby from Back at Square Zero (IG/Twitter: backatsquare0)
http://www.backatsquarezero.com/

– Rebecca from Rebecca Roams (IG/Twitter: RebeccaRoams)
http://rebeccaroams.com/

– Gina from Noshing on Asphalt (IG/Twitter: AsphaltNosher)
http://noshingonasphalt.wordpress.com/

– Kat from Sneakers and Fingerpaints (IG/Twitter: KatSnF)
http://www.sneakersandfingerpaints.com/

– Mindy from Mindy’s Fitness Journey (IG/Twitter: mindyartze)
http://www.mindysfitnessjourney.com/

– Kate from Run With Kate (IG/Twitter: runwithkate)
http://www.runwithkate.com/

– Sarah from Mom Running On Empty (IG/Twitter: momonempty)
http://mom-runningonempty.blogspot.com/

– Mindy at Road Runner Girl (IG: roadrunnergirl)
http://www.roadrunnergirl.com/

-Onto the second challenge:  The December Challenge!

Details: Run or walk for a mile a day for the entire month of December (no mall walking!). Come on you can do it!  Head on over to Discom -BOB – ULATED Running for more information. I think the December challenge will pair perfectly with what I have in store for you.

Which brings me to the THIRD CHALLENGE….

Come January 1, will you be one those people who makes weight loss your New Years Resolution  You get all excited, attacking your pantries (Peering from behind, your husbands and kids look at your like your some crazy fool.  They know you habitual ways. The junk food will come back. It always does.),  throwing the junk food out the door. You sign up for a weekly walking group, grab your coupons and create a stock pile of dvd’s that you got on sale at Target and then load up on the gym clothes. Come mid March you are back at square 1- noshing on your cookies wishing you would have stuck with plan. Well don’t wait until New Years. Weight loss is not a New Years resolution. It’s a life style change. Make that change now. Make habits that you stick to for a lifetime. Healthy Girl Adventures will presenting to you a Winter Weight-loss Challenge.

We will encourage each other as well as post healthy recipes and work outs to help you reach your goal.  You don’t have to loose weight to join this challenge.  Are you training for a race or have some other type of fitness goal you are trying to reach? Well join this challenge as it will provide you with accountability and encouragement. I don’t have all of the details. I plan on working them out this weekend. Once I do I’ll post the Weight Loss Challenge Plan. Get ready to feel the burn as you challenge your body like you never have. I hope to have a swag bag prize package at the end (not guaranteed). But I will only do that if I can get more people on board. I will keep everyone updated on the challenge through my Facebook page. So if you haven’t already LIKE my page to get updates. Tell all your friends too!

(DISCLAIMER: I am not a doctor, personal trainer or nutritionist. I lost  60 lbs of fat through working out and making healthy decisions. I want to share what I’ve learned to help others loose weight. Please contact your doctor before taking on any new challenges.)

Healthy Girl Adventures LOVES comments, so leave a reply

