New Years Goal


I hate the word Resolution. I feel you are setting yourself up for failure by using that word. Every year people make resolutions for the new year. The most popular would be weight loss. Unfortunately, come March, those “resolutions” are out the door. I feel by changing the word to goal, I will succeed! My goals for the New Year are:

  1. Clean Eating

  2. Running another 5k

  3. Run a 1/2 marathon by the end of the year

  4. Gain muscle and tone

Wow. I’ve got a lot on my plate. I am not resolving to do this (see that is why I hate that word), instead I am setting a goal or challenge. How many of out there feel if someone gives you a challenge or goal, you will meet it?  When you say resolution it feels like you are striving for or see something in the distance that may happen. Sort of like you resolve to clean your bathroom floor! Ha!

I know I can do this. I WILL do this. I am strong and I am capable to compete in a challenge. Unfortunately, I have a bad habit of giving up. I lose the fervor that I had at the beginning. I must keep myself challenged every day. Lucky for me, my goals intertwine. In order to gain tone and muscle I have to work out and eat right.  Clean eating and running fit the requirements. I have a hard time sticking to something because I want results now. A friend once told me to stop worrying about time, and concentrate on the here and now. The future gets here quicker than you realize. I think the easiest road ( I use that word “easiest” lightly, because it will certainly be anything but.)  is to make small goals. I am going create a small goal for each month of the year, and everytime I acheive each mission I get that rush of instant gratification. Each mission builds upon one another, until I defeat the main challenge. Do you think I can do it?

Every athlete or competitor need a game plan. Here is mine:

GAME PLAN:

game plan

How do those x’s, o’s and lines get me to clean eating, running a 1/2 and 5k and gaining muscle and tone? Here is how I’ll do it:

A. Start small by working on one month at a time.

B. Make a chart to track each month’s goal.

C. Post blog updates. I”ll be using you guys as my accountability partners. It will embarrassing to confess to you if I didn’t stick to my goals.

D. Each month I’ll also make a weekly menu and exercise plan.

E. Set up an incentive or “prize” for making reaching month’s goal.

Here is what I hope to accomplish for January:

January Goals

It is going to be tough. I’ve already prepared this weekend by heading to Parkesdale for my produce. Sometime tonight I’ll make my menu for next week and plan out my work out sessions. Though this wasn’t included for January, a side goal is to eat mostly organic foods. The reason I say it will be tough is because Joe LOVES junk food. Look at this:

009

See what I’m talking about? This is going to ROUGH!

What are your New Year’s Goals?

6 thoughts on “New Years Goal

    • I am glad you like this. Remember the best thing is to set smaller goals. Striving to be healthy or lose weight by “the end of the year” usually is harder to attain. Instead strive to meet monthly goals. 🙂

  1. THROW OUT THAT JUNK!! ON ONE NEEDS THAT MUCH JUNK IN THE HOUSE!!

    What 5K are you going to run? Which 1/2 marathon?? If you pick those races NOW, pay for them NOW, you’ll really want to commit to your goals!!

    My goals for 2013, in no particular order:

    1) Learn how to braid my hair
    2) Spend more time with my husband. Have at least one date night per month.
    3) Spend more 1:1 time with each of my kids. Have at least one date with each of them per month.
    4) Run 13 in 13.
    5) Pay it forward.
    6) Get my own cycle class on the schedule.
    7) Get certified in a Les Mills program.
    8) Lose 12 pounds by May.
    9) Get a sponsor.
    10) Attend FitBloggin
    11) Continue with WTSP News Channel 10 morning segment.
    12) Eat lunch with my kids every Friday afternoon.

    • You had me cracking up! Joe won’t budge. He refuses to throw his junk food out. It drives me insane! lol. Oh well, just more will power on my part. BTW I love all of your goals. It actually reminded me a few other goals I want to acheive. Such as getting on board by having my blog with its own domain and hosting. And I want to attend Fit Bloggin’ too.

  2. My goals are to continue what I started about 6-8 weeks ago cut out a lot of carbs and strength training . We also want to buy a house 🙂

    • These are great Kelli. I’m so proud of you for keeping the strength training up. And I really hope you will buy your new house this year! That sounds so exciting. Will you be staying in the same area?

Healthy Girl Adventures LOVES comments, so leave a reply

