Keeping It Real, mm-kay?


Untitled

It’s been two weeks since I declared my New Year’s Resolutions Goals.  My goals were:

  1. Clean eating
  2. Run a 5k and a half marathon
  3. Tone and Tighten

Here is the good news: I’ve already lost 2 lbs; I am loosing inches in my waist, thighs and arms; I’ve trained towards a 5k 3 times a week, and I bought official running shoes (a blog review on the shoes and I got “fitted” will be coming soon).

Most days have been easy, though there were a few crummy days. When I felt bummed out or had a stressful day at work, I had zero desire to work out and eat a healthy meal. There have been times on those bad days where wanted to take a hot shower, eat take out food and skip my fitness session. Guess what? I didn’t. I felt so empowered when I pushed myself to DO IT.  In fact, the funny thing is that once I did 30 minutes of cardio and started chowing down on grilled chicken and butter nut squash, I felt more energized and happy than I would had I skipped the work out.  Websites, blogs and health coaches can drill you all day that you must eat clean and healthy, and find time to do yoga or cross fit. But the power will always belong to do you. In the end you hold the key to your strength and will power. Put your excuses aside and push through that barrier. YOU ARE STRONG!

247622_160682507408525_1862430013_n

Photo courtesy of Make Me Pretty Please

Here is what I’ve learned so far:

YOUR DIET: CLEAN EATING

  1. I am trying to transform my fridge and pantry by stocking items that are healthy, natural and mostly organic. It is going to take some time because most organic food isn’t friendly on my wallet.  Here is what I am trying to avoid:
  • No synthetic nutrients
  • Artificial flavors or sweeteners
  • Preservatives

The other day I bought a jar of honey mustard from Whole Foods Market that is not only raw (aka: organic and every ingredient is fresh), but it comes from a local farm. I like to support my local farmers.

005 (2)

Now eating this way is me.  Some of you might be shaking your head, and thinking I am one of those “people”.  A crazy, weird, vegetable eating organic person. I am doing what I feel is right for me and you should do the same for yourself. Let’s not judge each other, ok?

2.  Go to your local health food market and browse, do not buy. Yes, you heard me right- DO NOT BUY.  You will be surprised one what you can find when aren’t in a hurry. Go to every aisle and look.  Pick stuff up and look at the labels. You’ll find some really cool, new, natural and healthy items that you’ve never seen before.  Go home and look at reviews on these products. You will feel much confident buying something new when you look at reviews first.  I love shopping this way. In fact I stumbled upon a few items. I found Garden of Life RAW PROTEIN POWDER Vanilla Chai flavor and Artisana Coconut Butter. I’ll be reviewing these items soon.

740728_10200303670944734_829405581_o (1)

2013-01-01_18.13.15

3.  Include fat at your meal, healthy fats that is. This was the best piece of advice my wonderful friend Jennifer J. gave me. The best part is I now I feel full, satisfied, and I am snacking less.  Fats burn fat (google it if you don’t believe me.)  My favorite healthy fats are-

  • avocado
  • nut butters
  • coconut oil
  • olive oil

I like to sautee my veggies with coconut oil or add avocado or olive oil to my salads. Nut butters taste good on toast or protein pancakes.  The other day for breakfast I had protein pancakes with coconut butter and a cup of espresso.  Normally between breakfast and lunch I become a starving, ravenous woman. Now that I’ve included the healthy fats along with my protein I feel full enough to last until the next meal, without feeling stuffed.

WHAT I ATE THIS WEEK:

Blueberry protein pancakes, a sliced banana and a cup of espresso sweetened with stevia.

012

A salad that was tastier than any restaurant has made. It had spinach leaves, butternut squash, small cubes of sweet potato, avocado, onions, tomatoes, half of a grilled chicken breast chopped up, feta cheese, almond slivers, olive oil and vinaigrette (keep in my mind that I carefully measured and portioned everything out.)

737563_10200294484835087_301429630_o

WORK OUT SESSIONS

I sweated, stretched and burned to my limit these last two weeks. I was sore  I lost 2 lbs. My skinny shorts fit me again and my t shirts no longer feel like they shrunk in the dryer.  I am sleeping better and I feel happier and energized!  Want to know what my work out schedule is like?

I am following to a routine designed by Fitness Magazine called The Tighten It Up Workout.

WEEK 1:  20 minutes of cardio, 3 times a week. Running 60 seconds, walking 90 seconds. 20 minute yoga dvd with the cardio sessions.
Strength moves- Two circuits, 3 times a week with 12 reps per move. I used 3 lb weights (per hand)

WEEK 2: 30 minutes of cardio, 3 times a week. Running 60 seconds, walking 90 seconds.  20 minute yoga dvd with the cardio sessions.
Strength moves- Two circuits, 3 times a week with 14 reps per move. I used 5 lb weights (per hand)

I am so proud of myself for sticking to my goals. Also, I have a few races coming up that I am training for. I am trying to build my endurance so I can run longer than a minute. I bought some cool running gear at a health expo yesterday.

If you want help sticking to your goals check out Goal Getter 2013. Some amazing health and fitness bloggers designed this on Facebook.  You can post pictures of your goals and how you are staying on top of them. It’s a fun way to help keep you on track.

What have you been doing to stay on top of your 2013 GOALS?

2 thoughts on “Keeping It Real, mm-kay?

  1. Wow, awesome job! I just came to your blog after recently joining the Tampa Bay Bloggers Facebook group and I love this first post I read. Its true that people can tell you everything you need to do, but it’s up to you to put it into action. Congrats for sticking to your goals so far, and its crazy what just a short amount of time can do for the way you feel and the way your clothes fit. It’s easy to let stress and boredom get to you and derail a healthy lifestyle, but in my experience there’s nothing more empowering and satisfying then waking up in the morning realizing that you’re still on track and you have the determination to get through another day maintaining your diet and fitness.

    • Welcome to our group. I’ll have to check out your blog too. Whats the name/url? Thank you so much for this sweet comment. I read it last week when I was having a bad day. It really gave me the motivation I needed to work out that day. You are so right. I felt so much better afterwards. And every day that I keep on track is another day I continue to live a healthy lifestyle. Treat your body right and you will reap many benefits and rewards.

Healthy Girl Adventures LOVES comments, so leave a reply

