FIT 2 RUN


001

About a month ago I decided that it was time to pull up my big girl panties and invest in a proper pair of running shoes. If I was going to run 3-4 times a week and take part in races, than my Champion tennis shoes from Target were not going to cut it.  I was being a cheap skate and even stubborn, for at first I thought spending $90+ on a pair running shoes was ridiculous  However, ALL of my running friends, even the coupon cutting one’s, told me to invest in a good pair ASAP. It’ll save you from injuries, they said.

A running store in Tampa area called Fit 2 Run does a free shoe fitting. Not wanting to part with my cheap skate ways I figured whatever shoe they recommended to me I’d just buy online at a cheaper price.  As you see below it didn’t quite work out that way.  I ended up buying the shoes at the store. As any consumer queen like myself would do, I went home and Googled my shoes to see if they were cheaper else where. Phew.  I heaved a breath of air and immediately felt alleviated. The prices were the same on the websites I clicked on.

I took my mom with me so she could be the official photographer.  When I first walked into the store my ears collided with the loud sound of a whirling of a blender. Cool. They have a healthy café inside the store that makes juices, smoothies and wraps.  Then, I saw a young, muscular man  running on a running track. It runs in a circle around the inner perimeter of the store. I approached the first sales girl and inquired about the free shoe fitting. The sales girl said she would go find someone for me but if she couldn’t then she would do it herself.

While my mom and I waited for the sales girl to fetch someone, we browsed around.

“Look how cute these shorts are!” I exclaimed. They were lime green, dry fit Nike shorts. FIT2RUN has a great choice of running apparel. Unfortunately the price tag is out of my range. I might splurge on a pair $90 shoes but I couldn’t justify splurging on a $50 pair of Nike shorts when I can get the same pair for a cheaper price at TJ Maxx or Marshalls. Yep the consumer queen coupon diva in me just keeps popping up.

After a few minutes I finally met up with the person who will assess the running shoe analysis.

The first thing she had me do was stand on this machine to test my gait. I still do not know what this test measures because I did not understand what she was saying. My guess, after looking at the machine, is that it tests the pressure points in your feet. Here are my official results

003

Once she determined what my gait was she then fitted me with shoes. Then I had to run on a treadmill for 90 seconds with those shoes.

006

My final results: I needed a medium stability shoe. My right ankle rolls in but my left ankle doesn’t. Now here comes the fun part: picking out the shoes! The experience was as zippy as my cat would have felt if she were in a room full of rolls of paper towel, cardboard boxes and open cans of Purina for gravy lovers. The wall boomed back at me with an array of colors: neon orange, hot pink, cobalt blue, lime green.

004

005

I tried on LOTS of shoes. Each time I’d try a pair on I run around the track to see how they felt.

002

007

Finally after at least an hour of trying on shoes (I’m not kidding), it came down to  the lime green pair of Brooks and the hot pink pair of Sauconys.

Here I am with the Brooks sneakers:

008

009

I didn’t take a picture of the Sauconys.  I took a picture when I wore them to the Disney Health Expo. Yeah I know I have the same shirt on. I love my FSU shirt. Don’t make fun!

025

At first I couldn’t decide which pair to buy. I cannot seem to make decisions because I always second guess myself. Inside my cranium, like a jumbled bowl of soup, are a million what if’s. What if I hate them? What if I buy the wrong pair? What if they are cute enough (yes I want my sneaks to be stylish.) Do you feel that way, or you do make quick decisions?  I must have run around the track a dozen times, trying out each pair once more. Finally, I put the Brooks on one foot and the Saucony on the other foot and jogged around store.  I then knew which ones to buy: the hot pink Saucony.

I took them up to the register to pay.  Once up there I found out FIT2RUN has a yearly membership you can join. It cost $20 but some of the perks include a  30 day guarantee return on the shoes plus discounts in their store. I decided to sign up. The part about the guarantee on the shoes is what sold me.

It has been almost two months since I bought these shoes and I love them! My feet don’t get sore when run. I also feel less stress and tension in the calves and ankles. I love these so much that I wear them even when I not running. I really need to invest in a second pair to wear casually around town.  The biggest thing I notice about these shoes compared to my cheap Target Champion sneakers is that my I do feel more support in my ankles  It really makes a difference when you run.

Last weekend I got to use them at my first race when  I sprinted in them at the Best Damn Race.  They kept me injury and sore free.  I am so glad I purchased these.

Did you get fitted for a proper pair of shoes? Or, did you just buy any pair at a running store? What shoes do you use when you run or workout?

6 thoughts on “FIT 2 RUN

  1. Thanks for the blog. I am planning to go to Fit-2-run store this weekend, but (like you) I also feel that $90 is too much. I run a lot and usually buy my shoes online using some coupons and have never spent more than $55. I was skeptical about the fact that the shoes may be cheaper online compared to the store. Thanks for informing that the prices are the same. 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Uniform of the Secret Society of Runners | Healthy Girl Adventures

  3. I’ve never actually gotten fitted for a good pair of running shoes, but now that I’m in the market for a new pair I might try it! I run 5-6 times a week so I’m sure taking the time to do this would be worth it. I have a pair of running shoes that are pretty old but I’m waiting until my birthday (at the end of March) to get a new pair. And for CrossFit I use a cheap pair of Champions that are flat bottomed – better for weight lifting.

    • Sorry I am so behind on replying to comments. Yes definitely save up that money and get you a good pair, especially since you are running that often. Have you had the chance to get fitted? And happy birthday! Hope you get lots of birthday loot to go towards your new sneaks. 🙂

  4. I really appreciate your post today. I got my income tax refund and I knew I wanted a new pair of shoes. You just saved me searching for the right shoe place. I am going to Fit to Run on Wednesday and I can’t wait!!

    • Sorry I am so behind on replying to comments. I am glad I was able to help. Where you able to get your new pair? What did you get? I am STILL loving mine. I’ve had mine for almost 3 mths and so far no injuries.

Healthy Girl Adventures LOVES comments, so leave a reply

