Summer Time & the Livin’ is Easy…..


Is it me or are you ready for summer?

Raise your hand up high if you ready for-

sweet watermelon

hot bright colors

the smell of suntan lotion

-and-

BBQ!!! 

Luckily I live in Florida so summer time isn’t too far ahead. What better way to get your summer time fix than making a smoky corn and black bean barbecue pizza? If you scroll down below you will see the recipe.

In other news I’m so very excited because I got a new part-time job working in the hotel industry. I won’t show the name of the hotel, but lets just say I am very excited to start working. It is a great opportunity for me. I was working full time at a law office in Tampa. The lagging economy caused my full-time status to go into part-time status.

I knew I would find something. I just didn’t know when and I was worried. I prayed and told God that I knew it was in His hands. I trusted that He would show me the right job. I submitted my résumé to many places (after all you what’s faith with out action?). My prayers were answered in less than a week.

Boy, I’ll tell you what….it is not easy-going through those tests the employers put you through! Typing tests, spelling and math tests (umm hello computer calculator and spell check), Microsoft Word (ok who out there really knows how to do a mail merge?); it really makes you feel pretty dumb that you don’t know how to spell “unnecessary” with out spell check! Isn’t all of this technology suposed to make us smarter?! I guess it doesn’t make us smarter, it just makes our living easy. What is your take on it? Put a comment below and tell me what you think.

BLACK BEAN AND CORN PIZZA (slightly adapted from Eating Well )

INGREDIENTS
1 plum tomato, diced
1 cup canned black beans, rinsed
1 cup corn (fresh or frozen.)
1 can of Pillsbury Pizza Crust Regular Crust
1/3 cup barbecue sauce
1 cup 6 cheese italian by Sargento.
1/8 teaspoon of cumin
Dried cilantro
1 pinch of red pepper flakes
Olive oil

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
Combine tomato, beans and corn in a medium bowl. Add the cumin and red pepper flakes. Stir and set aside. Stretch the dough on your pan. Gently brush olive oil on one side of the dough. Pre-cook the pizza dough according the can directions. I believe it is 8 minutes.
Remove the pizza after it has finished precooking. The bottom of the crust should be golden brown. On the raw side, again brush with olive oil. Flip the pizza over so the golden side is up. Add the BBQ sauce and sprinkle the cilantro on top of it. Then add the tomato, corn and black bean mixture. After that sprinkle on the cheese. Put back in oven and cook for another 10 minutes (or according the instructions on the can). Once it is finished baking make sure the crust is baked through on both sides.

Although I didn’t do this you can make the cheese crispier. After the baking time is done you can put it back in the oven on broil for 2 minutes or until cheese is slightly brown and bubbly.
I know I mentioned using the 6 cheese Italian. If you don’t have that you can use mozzarella, cheddar, montery jack…be creative. You don’t have to use this recipe to its exact. Have fun with it and make it to your liking. You can add roasted chicken and other seasonings/topping you like.

Healthy Girl Adventures LOVES comments, so leave a reply